Aren't we all searching for something?

Not sure what to search? Here are some topics that we can suggest you:

What is Nai Roshni Scheme for women from minority communities?

Nai Roshni scheme poster

Image Source :

The Government of India's initiative endeavors to empower and educate women hailing from marginalized communities.

Launched by the Government of India in 2012–13, the Nai Roshni Scheme is a leadership development program for women's empowerment through education and skill development. The initiative aims to uplift and educate women from marginalized communities and make them self-reliant and active contributors to the nation's progress. With effect from FY 2022-23, the scheme is now a part of the Pradhan Mantri Virasat Ka Samvardhan (PM VIKAS) scheme.

Key Objectives

The Ministry of Minority Affairs started the program with the following objectives:

  1. Promoting women's education and providing opportunities amid limited access to quality education.
  2. Skill development and vocational training to enhance women's employability, encouraging entrepreneurship and financial independence.
  3. Leadership development, enabling them to participate actively in decision-making and community development.

Salient Features

The scheme's key features include:

  • Free training in various skill development programs.
  • Financial Assistance to promote self-employment ventures to start small businesses and become financially self-sufficient.
  • Awareness and sensitization to address social issues such as domestic violence, child marriage, and gender discrimination, promoting a sense of empowerment among women.
  • Leadership workshops to enhance women's leadership skills, enabling them to participate actively in local governance and community initiatives.
  • 11 knowledge tools and techniques for engaging with government agencies, banks, and various institutions at every level.

Types of training

The scheme offers two kinds of training: Non-Residential Leadership Development Training for 25 women from a village or locality who are committed to improving the welfare of minority communities and Residential Leadership Development Training for 25 women who must assume leadership roles within their communities.

Eligibility criteria 

To be eligible for the scheme, women need to fulfill these criteria:

  1. Belong to the minority community as per Section 2 (c) of the National Commission for Minorities Act 1992, including Muslims, Sikhs, Christians, Buddhists, Zoroastrians (Parsis), and Jains.
  2. Be between 18 to 65 years of age.
  3. Have no annual income 
  4. Have a family income of a maximum ₹ 2.50 lakh from all sources.

Documents required 

To enroll in the scheme, the woman must have: 

  1. Aadhaar card
  2. Mobile number
  3. Email ID
  4. Bank account detail
  5. Residential certificate
  6. Passport size photograph
  7. 10th or 12th mark sheet

In Conclusion:

By nurturing a new generation of educated, skilled, and confident women, the Nai Roshni scheme aims to build a more inclusive and progressive society.